saintemarieapropos

MONIQUE STE-MARIE
TEXTILE DESIGNER


“My creative process centers around the utilitarian object and the features that make it easy and pleasant to use: functionality, design, colour, tactile appeal. I’ve always admired the skill of my ancestors who, with very little, took time to fashion everyday utensils from humble materials such as wood and hemp twine. The simple beauty of these handcrafted treasures still moves us in present times. I want to express that same spirit of resourcefulness with contemporary flair, for today’s homes. ”

Monique Ste-Marie is at the forefront of a new generation of designer-makers who apply a modern aesthetic vision to traditional techniques. In 2012, she completed the Textile Construction Program at the Montreal Center for Contemporary Textiles (MCCT) and now has her own atelier in Montreal.

She has previously worked in graphic design and multimedia production, while fueling her creative passion through a constant exploration of heritage crafts. In December 2012, the designer exhibited for the first time at the Salon des métiers d’art du Québec, Canada’s most important professional showcase for artisans. Her unique textile baskets are now available in selected boutiques.
_

asaintemarie
info@saintemarietextile.com
514 574.6530

saintemarieapropos

MONIQUE STE-MARIE
DESIGNER TEXTILE


« Au centre de ma démarche créative, il y a l’objet utilitaire et tout ce qui contribue à le rendre agréable : fonctionnalité, forme, aspect tactile et ludique, couleurs attrayantes. J’admire l’ingéniosité de mes ancêtres. Ils prenaient le temps de façonner, à partir de matériaux comme le chanvre et le bois, des outils et récipients dont la beauté naturelle nous touche encore au présent. C’est ce que j’ai voulu recréer à ma façon, avec le souci d’adapter ces trésors du passé aux intérieurs d’aujourd’hui. »

Monique Ste-Marie fait partie de cette nouvelle génération de designers-artisans qui mettent le savoir-faire traditionnel au service d’une vision esthétique résolument moderne. Elle a complété sa formation au Centre de textiles contemporains de Montréal (CTCM) en 2012 et travaille maintenant à Montréal depuis son propre atelier.

Ses études en arts graphiques, son expérience antérieure en production multimédia, son exploration constante des techniques artisanales ont nourri une passion pour le design sous toutes ses formes. En décembre 2012, elle expose au Salon des métiers d’arts du Québec. Ses objets-textiles exclusifs sont désormais disponibles en boutique.
_

asaintemarie
info@saintemarietextile.com
514 574.6530